Governor Jay Inslee signed a new law updating car seat regulations in Washington State beginning January 1, 2020. The booster seat law in Washington State changes for students from PK-8th grade.
A summary of the new requirements:
- Children under age 2 must be properly secured in a rear-facing car seat until they reach the manufacturer’s weight and height restrictions
- Children ages 2-4 must be properly secured in a car seat with a harness which may be either rear facing or forward facing until they reach the specifications for a booster seat.
- Children ages 4 and older and less than 4’9” tall must be secured in a booster seat with seat belt (or continue in harness seat).
- Children over height 4’9” must be secured by a properly fitted seat belt (typically starting at 8-12 years old).
- Child restraint system must comply with U.S. Department of Transportation standards and be used according to vehicle and child restraint manufacturer.
- Children under age 13 required to ride in the back seat when practical to do so.
The changes mean most kids will need a booster seat until they’re 10 or 12 years old.
Updated Field Trip form will be posted by November 1, 2019 to Materials and Forms on the www.mycatholicschool.org website.